The Programme Committee and its role in the Czech-Norwegian Research Programme

The Programme Committee (hereinafter the Committee) has been established by the Ministry of Education, Youth and Sports (MEYS), the Programme Operator of the Czech-Norwegian Research Programme (formerly CZ09 Support Research Fund). The Rules of Procedure of the Programme Committee came into force upon signature by the Minister of Education, Youth and Sports on 22 March, 2013 (see below).

Since this date, the Committee has met twice so far (on 4 April and 9 May, 2013) to discuss and to approve the rules of procedure of the Committee, the wording of the text of the Call, the Guide for Applicants and the Guide for Evaluators.

The main tasks of the Committee therefore include adopting of documents for the Call and giving recommendations to the Ministry of Education, Youth and Sports which proposals to select for funding and final awarding of grants, monitoring the implementation of selected financially supported projects, their results and outcomes and evaluate the implementation of the programme as a whole.

The Committee is a bilateral body which is composed of five representatives of professionals in the field of research (three from the Czech Republic and two from Norway). The Ministry of Education, Youth and Sports proposed three Czech nominations and the Research Council of Norway, the Donor Programme Partner, two Norwegian ones. Prof. MUDr. Pavel Martásek was appointed as a chairman. The members are Ing. Iva Pichová, PhD., Prof. PhDr. Ladislav Rabušic, PhD., Dr. Philos. Marit Westergaard and Dr. Knut Alfsen.

Representatives of the Ministry of Finance of the Czech Republic, the Research Council of Norway, the Financial Mechanism Office and the Embassy of the Kingdom of Norway may also participate in Committee meetings as observers.

Ministry of Education, Youth and Sports publishes the Rules of Procedure of the Programme Committee in Czech and English version: